When it’s time for my week in workouts, recap style: Vol. VII

How about another workout recap, shall we?

Monday, October 6     |     Rest
That about says it all.

Tuesday, October 7     |     Rest
I’m not sure the best name for Tuesday’s lack of exercise is “rest,” but I had an appointment I had to keep (plus, of course, there was a thunderstorm all night afterwards), so I couldn’t get to the gym.

Wednesday, October 8     |     Run + Lift
FINALLY, I got back to the gym and ran four miles on the treadmill. I noticed that my arms felt so heavy as I ran – a bit like I’d worked them really hard and sore via weightlifting or something (but that wasn’t the case at all). Any ideas what that’s about? My arms only felt like that as I was pumping them while running, so afterwards, they were perfectly capable of a quick, ten-minute arm workout at home.

Thursday, October 9     |     Run + Yoga
Unfortunately, I can’t even remember the last time I made it to the gym for a yoga class, but on Thursday I did break out the yoga mat at home, and that was lovely. I also made it to the gym but just for a six-mile treadmill run. Again, my arms felt super heavy.

Friday, October 10     |     Rest
Friday was a bit of a celebratory rest day, as it was my last day at my job!

Saturday, October 11     |     Long run + Lift
I haven’t felt so tired in the middle of a long run since . . . I don’t even know when. This ten-mile run was not exciting or even very pleasurable, which is unfortunate since it was probably my last run at this gym. Oh well. I’ve been reading a lot recently about how tapering in the weeks leading up to a race really messes with your mind (you start thinking there’s no way you can run the full race distance, etc.). So perhaps it was something like that. We’ll see how the half-marathon goes NEXT WEEKEND!!! 🙂 I’m so excited for it! (I also did some arm work at home after the run.)

Sunday, October 12     |     City walkin’
I had to go into Bangkok yesterday and ended up doing a lot of walking. Cross-training, check. 🙂

Okay, I’m off to finish packing for my trip!!! I can’t believe it’s almost here. Craziness.

So, tell me – how was your week in workouts last week? Any exciting plans (workout or non-workout-related) this week?

Leave a Thought