When it’s time for my week in workouts, recap style: Vol. V

Last week we left off with a treadmill 10-miler. I must have thought I was hot stuff then and well-deserving of pizza, but let me tell you, I had no idea what was coming for me. Head’s up: this week we’re starting with a less-than-impressive few days but ending on a high note.

Monday, September 22     |     Rest

A much-appreciated rest day. Instead of working out, I took the opportunity to use up the last bit of sun in the sky to throw my laundry into the washer down the street and then hang it up to dry. (Lovely?)

Tuesday, September 23     |    Rest

Something came up [more on that later, perhaps], and I had to cancel my workout.

Wednesday, September 24     |     Rest 

So, at this point, can we even call Day 3 a “rest” day? I’m not so sure.

Thursday, September 25     |     Run + Yoga

Finally! On Thursday I got it together and went to a yoga class after work. I thought it was to be a Gentle Flow class, but I think it ended up being Core Flow. Regardless, my favorite instructor taught it, so I was a happy camper. Afterwards, I had the most fantastic (mentally and physically) three-mile run on the treadmill! As I’ve mentioned before, I think that the treadmills’ gauges are off at this gym, but regardless, I ran much faster than I have the past few months. Woo.

Friday, September 26     |     Rest 

Zilch.

Saturday, September 27     |     Lift 

All I can really say about this one is that I did ten minutes worth of arm work at home with my weights. Nothing too impressive, especially considering how bad I’ve been about lifting these past two weeks. (I told you my workouts were mostly in a sorry state of affairs this week!)

Sunday, September 28     |     Long run

Perhaps it was all that rest I’d shored up in my body, but somehow I knocked out a 14-MILE TREADMILL RUN on Sunday!!! It was a great run similar to Thursday’s — I felt mentally and physically strong and energized, something that really is key for me when it comes to getting through a run of any distance. I’d been planning a 15-mile run, but hey, I’m not complaining. Since I’d known this long run was coming, I started hydrating with lots of water starting on Friday. (I’ve been especially parched lately!) I kept a full bottle of water with me on the treadmill, and matched with the GU I’d taken earlier, a fantastic, new-to-me Spotify playlistA Prayer for Owen Meany on my iPad, and some lip balm in easy reach, I felt solid. Afterwards, I basically chugged a bottle of Gatorade, hurried downstairs to the grocery store for a bottle of chocolate milk, and decided that it was necessary right then and there to go get a giant dinner. (The treadmill, correct or not, showed that I’d burned 1200+ calories!) I ate a big salad, soup, and chicken for dinner, came home and laid on my bed for a long while, and finally fell into a good, deep sleep. Check plus.

What "after 14 miles" looks like.
What “after 14 miles” looks like.

What did you get up to last week? Happy Monday! 

Leave a Thought