When August Hasn’t Been Friendly So Far

Welcome, August. I’ve been sick as a dog. 

It didn’t start too badly. At first I thought it’d just be a cold. But then it turned into a really mean cold, which ended up being a virus. And then it turned into full-on nausea that kept me awake all night long. And in bed all the next day. Then it got sneaky, letting me come back to work for one day and then knocking me out when I lost my voice the next. Oy vey. What a weird sick.

All that to say, there’s nothing quite like being sick in a country that’s not your homeland to make you really, really, really wish you were in your homeland. Anyone who knows me well knows that it’d be quite odd for me to be turned off by the idea of Thai food. But this past week, I was finding Thai food revolting and wishing upon all stars, seahorses, and scarecrows that a Panera would pop up at least within walking distance. Obviously no Panera showed up, so I settled for eating bread day in and day out. 

Let’s wrap up this whiny post with a look at the things I’ve been eyeing with want recently, eh? (And, PS, I’m on the mend – I think. And no, I no longer find Thai food revolting. In fact, I’m quite looking forward to a good lunch in a few minutes!) 

Panera’s tomato soup. Le Creuset Classic Whistling Kettle. Republic of Tea’s Harvest of the Season teas. Coat from Threadflip. Mason jar tumbler. Benefit’s Stay Flawless 15-Hour Primer.

Other than the whine, I must let you know that – as you might have expected – I can’t keep up with daily posts, at least not daily posts that will be very substantial or worthwhile. So, PQ is going down to twice-a-week posts. Thanks for being patient!

And, lastly, a bit of meditation from Anne Lamott’s Help.Thanks.Wow.
“Sometimes pain can be searing and it is usually what does us in … It unfolds and you experience it, and it is so horrible and endless that you almost give up … But grace can be the experience of a second wind, when even though what you want is clarity and resolution, what you get is stamina and poignancy and the strength to hang on.”

Leave a Thought

