When God is Talking About the Wilderness

“The notion of obscurity as a curse is so ingrained in our culture that even some people I know in vocational ministry feel that if they’re not adequately known or recognized they’ve either done something wrong or God is unhappy with them. If only they knew that God draws people into obscurity – into the wilderness – not because He’s angry with them or because they aren’t ‘successful enough,’ but because He wants to go deeper in His relationship with them. Far from being punishment, judgment, or a curse, the wilderness is a gift. It’s where we can experience the primal delight of being fully known and delighted in by God.” 

“The only real antidote to the clamor of the crowd is time in the wilderness, where our true identity can be established and we can hear the still, small voice of God.” 

Both of these quotes come from Jonathan Martin, specifically from his new book Prototype: What Happens When You Discover You’re More Like Jesus Than You Think? 

So I’m thinking about the way I connect worth to affirmation, affirmation to worth. I’m thinking about clamor. I’m thinking about identity and loneliness. I’m thinking about the wilderness. I’ve known for awhile now that Thailand will be wilderness, in this sense, for me. So it’s good God’s got me thinking about the greater clarification of what that means. 

PS. Have you noticed the recent updates to the “About” page? Check it out in the top right corner of the blog.

8 thoughts on “When God is Talking About the Wilderness

  1. Hi there! I found your blog through Lauren Elizabeth’s High Five for Friday today. So funny how God works, but this post was really what I needed to hear today. …The wilderness isn’t a punishment, it’s a gift. Looking forward to reading more!
    Ashleigh from withwhimsyblog.wordpress.com

    1. Ashleigh, I’m so glad to hear that. How awesome! Now that I’m finally living in my own wilderness time, I’ve nearly forgotten that truth: the wilderness is a gift. I’ll be thinking on that more right along with you.

  2. Reblogged this on Powerfully Quiet and commented:

    Ashleigh from withwhimsyblog.wordpress.com reminded me of this post, one that’s absolutely necessary for me to re-read and re-chew now that I am living in the wilderness. So, I’m reblogging today.

Leave a Thought

