When I Think About Trust

Can we just talk about the fact that we’re halfway through February?! Nuh-uh. (Also, let’s talk about the fact that that phrase was one of the first ones I learned upon moving to the South.) I don’t believe it’s February, I don’t believe it’s February 19, and I definitely don’t believe it’s almost midterms, spring break, and March.

Also, let’s talk about the fact that I missed a blog post yesterday. So sorry about that. I was running from one thing to the next and just plain ran out of time. On to today’s post, a short but thought-provoking one:

Duane Elmer has done it again. Chapter 6 of his Cross-Cultural Servanthood has gotten me thinking. In this chapter, Elmer talks about how trust is an absolute necessity when building relationships – a truth that I’ve considered obvious for some time. He discusses the various ways in which trust can be built, but he also says something that has struck me as a new thought to consider: “If we trust someone, we cannot be indifferent. Deep trust drives us to act in the best interest of the other.” Meaning that when we trust, we care. When we trust another person, we gather him or her into our heart. And, as Elmer says and as reality proves, trust requires risk, mostly emotional – which can be a good thing. Going with this idea that trust means caring, George MacDonald offers an interesting thought: “It is a greater compliment to be trusted than to be loved.” I’m really thinking on this one today.

What do you think? Have you found that there is much of a difference between trusting and loving, being trusted and being loved?


February 16 Joy Dare: 3 Gifts in Shadows
1. I love that the sunlight is stronger than our curtains and shows up in our room every morning. The shadows, what I typically assume to be “dark”-filled, appear light-filled instead.
2. Every shadow side of one’s personality has a bright side, a strength. There’s always hope!
3. Don’t mind the overuse of the metaphor here: When I get to feeling particularly “overshadowed” by some kind of darkness and my stomach gets all knotted up, God immediately fills the place as soon as I reach out to him, and things get lighter.

February 17 Joy Dare: 3 Gifts Found in Giving/Serving
I’m answering this one in general terms, not in Sunday-specific ones.
1. Eyes lifted off myself for a broad, more whole perspective
2. Greater love for others
3. Joy in doing something worthwhile

February 18 Joy Dare: 3 Gifts on Paper
1. John Rybicki’s poetry
2. A kind letdown
3. New beginnings

February 19 Joy Dare: 3 Gifts That Were ‘Plan Bs’
1. The increasing possibility of moving to Thailand
2. My upcoming trip to Wales
3. The building that I’ve lived in these past two years – one of the best spur-of-the-moment decisions in college 🙂

Leave a Thought

