When I Tutor French

One time in my life (senior year of high school), I student taught a seventh grade French class. At that time in my life, I thought I had reached a decent point on the “cool” scale. At this point in my life, I realize that I had not – so don’t look too hard at the photo.

Image

really love French. I studied abroad in Normandy the summer after my freshman year of college, and I finished my French concentration the following spring. All that to say, it’s been awhile since I’ve been in a French class, and I’ve missed it.

But today! today! I started tutoring the sweetest Russian girl alive. She attends a university nearby and is studying French there. I was so nervous that I wouldn’t remember the grammatical nuances I had so ardently ingrained in my brain years ago – but somehow I remembered! I remembered the grammar, I remembered the vocabulary, I remembered the way French words should sound when read aloud, and, basically, we had the best time. I’m pretty much lovin’ life right now. Being able to get back into French and help someone else further her love of the language?! What an unexpected, good-good (yes, double-good) gift.

January 6 Joy Dare: 3 Gifts Outside
1. Sun and spring breeze in the morning
2. Overcast sky and cool weather in the afternoon = sweater time (which is the best time)
3. Unexpectedly little traffic

One thought on “When I Tutor French

Leave a Thought

