When I Welcome Monday

What I’ve Been Reading: Vanessa Diffenbaugh’s The Language of Flowers

9780345525550_custom-dd0dcabf7b2c7bfce49cefd4114316d7d56ae244-s6-c10

I would give this novel somewhere between a 3.5 and a 4 out of 5 stars. Maybe a 3.8? I read it over the span of one week and really looked forward to reading more of it each time I picked it up. Both the characters and the organization of the plot were what kept me coming back for more day after day. As most other readers have said, I also found the concept of the language of flowers pretty interesting; my favorite part about that was the dictionary that’s included at the end of the novel. The reason why I wouldn’t rate this novel any higher than my crazy pick of 3.8 is because I didn’t find any concepts or plot twists particularly earth-shattering or “novel.” (That’s what really makes a book 5 stars, in my opinion.) But The Language of Flowers is definitely a good read! It’s sad almost the whole way through, so brace yourself, but it’s worth it. If you’re looking for something to read on the plane or just for something productive with which to grab your attention in your free time, reading this novel is a good option.

Valentine Blogging Party: Exciting news! I will be participating in the 2013 Valentine Blogging Party. As you can see when you click on the link, this means that I will be randomly paired up with another blogger in order for us to get to know each other and then send each other an assortment of small, fun gifts ($10-$15 total) by February 7. Everyone participating in this Blogging Party will then blog about their new blend (blogger friend) and what they received. Check it out by clicking on the link, and follow the instructions to sign up if you’re interested!

 

January 12 Joy Dare: Something Above, Below, Beside
Above: It rained earlier tonight, and then everything froze. Even the tree’s limbs were frozen over, so they looked like black icicles suspended in the sky. Beautiful.
Below: My bed is currently lofted, and when I got up this morning, something happened to make it tilt down on an angle. Thank God it didn’t crash down or something!
Beside: Wonderful friends eating good food

January 13 Joy Dare: 3 Things About Yourself You Are Grateful For
1. My ability to sleep pretty much anywhere – like under a pile of blankets on my futon last night
2. My resilience
3. My perseverance to keep seeing the good in people

January 14 Joy Dare: 3 Startling Graces of God
1. Peace during what I had expected to be a hectic time
2. A season of close friendship after a season of loneliness
3. Unbroken self-esteem

Leave a Thought

