When I High Five Friday

Happy Friday, all! I’m linking up with Lauren at From My Grey Desk for the weekly High Five for Friday post.

H54F

1. The World Missions Summit 3 (TWMS3)

twmsstamp

I am so grateful for this sweet time in which I was able to soak up truth, mingle in God’s presence, and come away with lots of good thoughts rolling around in my head that have been anxiously awaiting processing. Don’t worry; I’ll be posting a recap on the blog soon!

2. Rachel Held Evans’ A Year of Biblical Womanhood: How a Liberated Woman Found Herself Sitting on Her Roof, Covering Her Head, and Calling Her Husband Master

womanhood-book3

I caught the bug of love for reading on the Kindle Fire while traveling to Texas and back with the $1.79 Kindle edition of this book. I’ll be posting a review of this New York Times bestseller sometime this month. In the meantime, go out and snag yourself a copy because it is a must-read, must-read, must-read for women and men alike. As I told a friend the other day, it had me both laughing and nodding my head, brow furrowed, in public.

3. Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are

9780310321910

I am loving the recent sales on Kindle editions of great books! I got this one for $3.79 this week. I am excited to read the book that I’ve continuously heard rave reviews about and to participate in Voskamp’s daily Joy Dare throughout 2013. (Also, bragging rights: I heard Voskamp speak at the Festival of Faith and Writing last spring, and not only is her voice the most soothing and unique of all time, but what she had to say was incredible and riveting.)

4. World Market with a best friend

IMG_20130103_151842

So excited for this little gem. It smells heavenly and reminds me of a favorite place: the magnolia grove at Maymont.

5. Birthday party tonight for my oldest best friend!

40300_10150244421830405_1230674_n

I’m so grateful that we’ve known each other since sixth grade. She’s a good one!


Today’s Joy Dare: A Gift Old, New, Blue

Old: The nearness of God’s grace
New: A friendship bracelet, as silly as it sounds – I’ve quietly wanted one for some time and was just surprised by one yesterday!
Blue: A beautiful tuberose magnolia candle, decorated with blue and gold (pictured above)

Annnd some great thoughts for you to mull over this weekend: Shane Claiborne’s 13 Hopes for 2013 

Leave a Thought