When I Review Mark Products

Remember what I said in my “Welcome” post? Powerfully Quiet will be a hodgepodge of thoughts and moments in my life. Well, friends, this is certainly a hodgepodge week. I’ve gone from the Liebster Award to a fitness survey to Advent to, today, a review of various makeup products. Coming sometime next week will be my ruminatings over James Joyce. So if you’re not particularly a fitness person, keep reading; if you don’t really care about fashion, keep reading; and if you could care less about literature, keep reading. I can pretty much promise you that I’ll hit most ends of the hodgepodge spectrum over the course of this blog.

Ever since I placed my order with Mark last week, I had been counting down the days until my package from them would arrive. When it finally came on Monday, I was so excited to rip into it. As I pulled each product out of the box, I experienced that sinking feeling of “Oh no, this is not what I thought it would be.” I pulled out both concealers first and realized just how small each is. This is no fault of Mark’s – I could have easily looked at the size and weight of each product online before placing my order. The lotion as well was much smaller than expected.

Image

Mark Good Riddance Hook Up Concealer (Fair/Light)

Image

Both concealers connected via hook-up, which I’ll explain later in this post. Mark Good Riddance Hook Up Concealer (Fair/Light) on left and Mark Conceal for Real Hook Up Concealer (Fair/Light) on right, shown against my Mac so you have a good idea of the size

Image
Mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion, shown in the palm of my hand so you have a good idea of the size

But, relief! I tried the lotion for the first time on Monday night and found that it was, indeed, what I had hoped it to be. It was definitely mattifying – it didn’t make my skin feel slick and oily like most lotions do, and my skin didn’t look slick and oily after using the lotion either. I went to sleep that night pretty content with this product but nervous about trying the super tiny concealers in the morning.

But, again, my concerns were relieved. I have been using Makeup Forever’s HD Concealer (325) for the past year and have been very happy with everything about it other than the price. Both of these Mark concealers (one for under-eye and one for everything else) did the same job as the Makeup Forever concealer for less than half the price. Considering that my two goals were to find an equally great product and to find one for a cheaper price, I am content! I would definitely recommend these products. They are not life-changers by any means, but they get the job done, and they’re pretty fun to use (both for me and my wallet).

(Also, I was pretty skeptical about the hook-up aspect of the concealers. But now that I have it, I love it! The hook-up is basically a black tube that connects the two concealers or whatever Mark products you want to connect. This is actually incredibly convenient because both of these concealers are so small, so by connecting them with this hook-up, they become the same size of the Makeup Forever concealer that I had been using. This makes them easier to store – I keep my concealers, mascara, and makeup brushes in a mug – and easy to grab if I ever throw them into my purse when I’m on the run. Definitely a great product!)

Here are the other products I use:

Bare Minerals Original SPF 15 Foundation in Light
I have been using mostly Bare Minerals products for the past few years and have been really happy with them. Recently, though, I have been looking for cheaper products, which has led me to Mark, NYX, and Cover Girl. I think that my next foundation may be Mac Studio Fix, a two-in-one foundation and powder. It’s the same price as this Bare Minerals foundation, but I like the fact that the two-in-one aspect will save me money.

-NYX Stick Blush in Hibiscus
(I got mine at Walmart.)

Round the Clock Waterproof Eyeliner in 9 PM

-Cover Girl Professional Super Thick Lash Mascara in Black
(I got mine at the grocery store.)

*I was not paid or sponsored to write this review or to buy these products. I chose on my own to buy these products and to write this review.

What are your favorite products?

One thought on “When I Review Mark Products

Leave a Thought

