When I Mull Over Advent

Since the beginning of Advent this year, I have been reminded over and over again of the name “Emmanuel” – “God with us.” No surprises here; of course “Emmanuel” is being discussed during this season. But it’s that concept of God being fully WITH us that I can’t shake. I love it. This verse in particular has been at the forefront of my mind: “Praise be to the Lord, the God of Israel, because He has come to His people and redeemed them” (Luke 1:68). The idea that God has come to be with us, his people, and that he is still with us, and that his coming is what we celebrate at this time of the year is . . . remarkable. This year, as I celebrate Advent, I don’t just perpetuate a tradition; I revel in the fact that God – not just a semblance of God or a hint of his presence, but full-on God – is here with us. Could I ask for anything more? When God is here, peace is here, love is here, fullness of joy is here, grace is here, salvation is here, mercy is here. I’m soul-deep grateful.

This past year, the notion of God as Father has been stuck within me. In this current season, the notion of God as Emmanuel is particularly moving my spirit. Let’s ruminate on it, mull over it. May you find what you seek during this Advent season. Happy celebrating, friends.

2 thoughts on “When I Mull Over Advent

Leave a Thought

