When I Take a Fitness Survey

Let’s jump into a Fitness Survey inspired by Carrots ‘N’ Cake!

1. Five fitness items that I can’t live without:

Vibram FiveFingers (Sprint) & Injinji socks: yes, I count these as one item. I wish I could run     socks-less in my Vibrams, but the sides of my feet tend to feel like they are going to get blisters ASAP after just one mile when I run without wearing these socks.

Lululemon’s Run: Swiftly Tech Racerback: yes, Lululemon products are expensive. No, I did not spend my own money on mine (I got them as gifts). Yes, I would spend my own money on them – they are that good.

Lululemon’s Run: Swiftly Tech Long Sleeve: See my above comment. Also, this long sleeve in particular is great because it really does keep me so warm when running in the cold. When I was training for the half-marathon, I did my 10-mile run during a 27-degree morning, and the only other layer I needed to stay warm was a sweatshirt. That, folks, means that this long sleeve is legit.

-Some good wicking shorts: you know that they’re good when you can avoid chafing and feeling all that awesome (but distracting) sweat

-Smart phone: to listen to music, to Instagram, and for safety

Image
(Photo: my pile of necessities for the half-marathon)

2. Favorite pre-workout snack/meal:

Bagel thin covered in maple almond butter and a sliced banana

(Post-workout: protein shake. AKA a blend of almond milk, banana, Greek yogurt, frozen fruit, protein powder, and flax seed)

3. On my fitness bucket list:

Get back into a fitness routine: running, weightlifting, cross-training, and Pilates. Also, do the Color Run 5K!

4. Must-have tech tools:

Smart phone and Garmin Forerunner 110 GPS Watch. Also, an armband for my smart phone.
Image

5. Motivational mantra:

When I’m running: “I am committed to this first mile; I will not stop for anything.” “I am committed to this second mile; I will not stop for anything.” Etc. (I will stop if I am in a great deal of pain though, but this idea of commitment makes me less likely to buckle down to the pressure of feeling out of breath or just wishing I was doing something else with my time.
I don’t really have any other mantras other than the general “You’ve got this.” Running is typically the hardest form of exercise for me to push myself through, oddly enough. That means that I’m most easily distracted when I’m running than when I’m doing any other form of exercise. But when I get distracted while lifting, I remind myself that it’s worth it because it doesn’t take much time and it makes me feel good about myself (I feel fit, I have a tighter core, I like the way I look); while cross-training, I remind myself that I can do it because 30 minutes-1 hour flies by when I’m reading or watching a movie, so 30 minutes-1 hour of cross-training will not kill me; while doing Pilates, I breathe and focus because it really is so relaxing, it de-stresses me, and it makes me feel like I have a tighter core.

6. Favorite cardio exercise:

Running and using the elliptical

What are your favorite fitness items? What do you like to eat before and after a workout? Have you found any motivational mantras that work for you? What do you like to do for exercise? Leave a comment by clicking on the link to the left of this post.

One thought on “When I Take a Fitness Survey

  1. My favorite fitness item is definitely my Garmin – I don’t know how I ever ran without it!

    I love the Lululemon Run Swiftly tech stuff – it’s my favorite to run in too.

Leave a Thought

